Skip to main content

Ohio ASCE Sections Recognize Representative Steven LaTourette


On March 13th, the Cleveland ASCE section hosted a legislative breakfast which featured a discussion by Representative Steven LaTourette (R- OH 14th District). Loretta Snider, Cleveland Section President, and David Swiger, Government Relations and Professional Activities Chairperson, coordinated the event which was attended by more than 70 members representing the Cleveland, Akron-Canton, Central Ohio and Cincinnati sections and ASCE Ohio Council. Representative LaTourette, recognized by ASCE National in 2011 as an Honorary Fellow Member, discussed recent legislation for a new surface transportation program, the difficulties in finding revenue to pay for infrastructure legislation and the challenges facing congress to find common ground on these issues. Representative LaTourette fielded questions from the audience relating to numerous infrastructure issues including transportation and water resources. 
At the conclusion of the meeting, Jim Pajk, ASCE Ohio Council, presented an “Award of Appreciation” on behalf of all the Ohio ASCE sections to Representative LaTourette for his efforts in sponsoring and co-sponsoring infrastructure legislation since 1995. He was recognized for having served on the Transportation and Infrastructure committee for 14 years and currently serving on the Appropriations committee of the U.S. House of Representatives. He was also commended for working at times in a bi-partisan manner on a long term surface transportation program, the Dam Rehabilitation Act, the Water Trust Fund Rehabilitation Act and aiding ASCE in making members of congress aware of the society’s “Failure to Act” transportation economic study.
Representative Steven LaTourette addresses members of Ohio ASCE sections at the Legislative Breakfast held in Cleveland, Ohio.

Jim Pajk, ASCE Ohio Council, gives remarks on behalf of Ohio ASCE Sections recognizing Representative LaTourette's work in Congress on infrastructure investment legislation.

Ohio ASCE members with Representative Steven LaTourette- (left to right) David Swiger, Cleveland Section; Erin Curtis, Akron-Canton Section President; Representative Steven LaTourette; Jim Pajk, ASCE Ohio Council Past President; Randall Over, 2012 ASCE National Presidential Candidate; Loretta Snider, Cleveland Section President